Pattern/Orla Kiely

Uncategorized

As this is a project about my personal and professional development, I thought a good way to brand myself is as personal as I can without going too far for it not to be professional. One way I could achieve this is through use of design, as many others have done. I would like the design to not only reflect my style but my interests also.

One of my favourite designers and influences is Orla Kiely, I like the use of simple shapes and bright colours she uses in her work, because of this, her designs can be recognised instantaneously. They have a reflection of 1970’s style homewares, although they are brought into the present and used on a range of things (cars, radios, shoes etc,).

I designed a pattern in my sketchbook using circles and replicated this on Illustrator. I used one of my favourite colours in a few tones and its complementary pairing of orange.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 22.54.13

Design structure.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 23.01.29

Further structure with colour.

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 10.27.30

First design – too busy, middle section with inverting orange and teal leaves are too busy along side the other pattern.

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 10.25.11

I expanded the design and changed the lines to a colour each. This makes the design more inviting.

 

Leave a Reply

