Colour Themes

Screen Based Design

colours

I decided to draw from the content the app will hold to design a colour scheme, by doing so the users may feel more comfortable using the app, I may create different colour schemes out of this that they can change in settings also.

I picked a mixture of well known, used and brightly coloured natural plants, roots and flowers. From these I picked out collections of light to dark shades and applied them to the   icons.

pinkgreenhomeicons

I chose these two colours to create a default theme, however the Rose colour, goes a bit too light compared to the white text and icons and could be considered quite feminine.

I then evolved the design by merging the icons and text of the sections to make it easier for users to navigate around the app. First I lowered the opacity on the icons, however the overall design was very flat. I developed this by adding drop shadow on to the icons, this pushed the design further into a modern characteristic. Finally i made the icons smaller and put them underneath the titles as the previous design was difficult to read.

Leave a Reply

